afhost.blogg.se

Install os x on esxi
Install os x on esxi







  1. INSTALL OS X ON ESXI INSTALL
  2. INSTALL OS X ON ESXI UPDATE
  3. INSTALL OS X ON ESXI ARCHIVE
  4. INSTALL OS X ON ESXI UPGRADE
  5. INSTALL OS X ON ESXI FULL

From the App you can power on VM’s, take or return to snapshots, and manage which display is assigned to a VM. This is not exactly End-User friendly, so I wrote an Android App to manage the VM’s residing on this box. VMware ESXi normally requires the Vsphere Client for management to be run on a separate pc or VM. One VM runs in the background with a wifi card passed through, acting as an integrated WiFi access point. These can run out of the HD 4650, or any of the HD 6450’sĪll simultaneously with the SteamOS’s, in any combination. I also have other VM’s of other OS’s defined. I can also define many more SteamOS VM’s, and run any 4 of my choosing. They can all be returned to “New Install” state at any time. The VM’s are protected by snapshots, so no need for a recovery partition. I only gave the VM’s 2 cores from the i7 initially. The performance is equivalent to a SteamBox on a dual core board with the same graphics card. The RAM assigned is owned by the VM, but CPU cores can be over-provisioned. How much RAM or CPU cores are assigned to each VM is defined in its config.

INSTALL OS X ON ESXI FULL

PCI Passthrough is where the physical hardware is passed through to the VM, with its full capabilities. These run concurrently, side by side, each using one of the HD 6450’s.and a USB using PCI Passthrough. I have multiple VM’s defined, 4 of which are SteamOS. This runs VMware ESXi 5 on the bare metal, using the 2gb SSD and the Nvidia PCI card as the console. Obviously this can be tweaked to your needs (or you could decide not to use a template at all), but for all those fancy things I’ll have to refer you to the vFuse wiki here.So I built a multiheaded SteamBox, this one is a little different on the inside: Those who are unfamiliar with vFuse might want to have a look at one of my previous post here, but for those who just want to know what to change in the template, here is my basic template to use with vFuse.

install os x on esxi

With VMWare Fusion 11.5 goes a compatible vFuse version, so I went for the latest (at this moment of writing) version 2.2.5. I used the (at this moment of writing) pre-release version v1.10b587 which worked fine. VFuse needs a macOS DMG to create the VM, so no better tool imo than AutoDMG.

INSTALL OS X ON ESXI UPGRADE

Reboot your server and DONE! VMWare Fusion 11.5īecause vFuse needs VMWare Fusion to be running, and we need Catalina support, we need to upgrade our VMWare Fusion to 11.5.

INSTALL OS X ON ESXI UPDATE

If all goes well, you will end up with a long block of text confirming the update is completed.

INSTALL OS X ON ESXI INSTALL

The hierarchy of files and paths of the zip file needs to be maintained.Īfter uploading the bundle to the datastore, and putting the server in maintenance mode, the only thing left to do is run the following command: esxcli software vib install -d “/vmfs/volumes/Datastore/DirectoryName/EXACT-NAME-OF-THE-BUNDLE-FILE.zip”

INSTALL OS X ON ESXI ARCHIVE

If that's the case, compress it again but make sure to only add the subfolders and files to the archive and not the main folder where the content was zipped to.

install os x on esxi

zip bundle on macOS it might automatically unzip it depending your system preferences.

  • No USB sticks and physical access to the server needed.
  • Upload the bundle (.zip file) to your datastore in ESXI.
  • The reason I prefer this method is because of the simplicity:

    install os x on esxi

    There are multiple ways of updating your ESXI, but my preferred method is using the offline bundle. Subject to your server, free trial or VMWare licensing you will need to download the ESXI 6.7 Update 3 (or 2). Until now I was running ESXI 6.7 and this does not run macOS 10.15 Catalina (VM stuck at Apple Logo at boot). So, first of all: ESXI, as this is where my VM is gonna live.

  • Tweak the ESXI script to be compatible with Catalina.
  • Tweak the vFuse template to be compatible with Catalina.
  • First of all we’ll need to update ESXI to 6.7 update 3 (or 2).
  • I might be updating my VMWare Fusion and Parallels Desktop post where needed for Catalina as well, but for this occation I’d like to focus on what I need to automate my VM’s in ESXI: Those who have been following this blog for a while ( 1 Year since I started, 100k hits! Thanks btw!) know that I’m a big fan of automating things, so my preferred way of deploying VM’s is a script running against ESXI which automates the creation of a vFuse based vm. That said, let’s start with updating our test environment, and one of the things I need on a daily basis are macOS 10.15 Catalina Virtual Machines. Apple released iOS13, macOS 10.15 Catalina,… Jamf released Jamf Pro 10.15, 10.16… some Jamf Connect updates… and much more….so more than enough to get back into action!

    install os x on esxi

    Thanks to everyone who reached out to me during my recovery ! 2 months of inactivity puts me in a situation where it urgently time to get back up to speed and up to date with all changes in the MacAdmin world.









    Install os x on esxi